The Toastmasters Challenge: 8 posts in one month

Published: [2020-08-01 Sat]

Welcome, everyone, to the August of the year that never seems to end!

As part of an assignment for my Toastmasters public speaking club, I have decided to take on a blogging project. I don’t want to do anything big. I just want a place where I can share some thoughts with friends about things going on in the world, and wow are there many things going on in the world right now!

A good theme of this blog going forward is the intersection of tech, current events, and faith; probably leaning more toward the tech end. I would like add an occasional music-related post here and there to mix things up. (If you follow me on LinkedIn, you probably know that I like progressive rock a lot.)

Tech
Well, it’s my job. The tech world never sleeps, and it’s full of passionate individuals.
Current events
Almost everyone has something to say about the recent $BIG_HEADLINE_EVENT. Talk about current events tends to draw attention from passionate individuals.
Faith
There are few voices of faith in the tech world, especially voices of Christianity. Whenever discussions about faith and religion are on the table, one thing is certain: there are passionate individuals.

Rules of the road

You are entitled to your own opinions, but you are not entitled to your own facts. – Unknown source

Opinions expressed in this blog are my own, and they do not reflect the official positions of Funtoo Linux, my employers, Toastmasters International, or my Toastmasters club.

You are free to agree or disagree on any topic. My opinions are mine, and your opinions are yours. If you disagree with me, then I kindly ask that you do so in a respectful manner. I will do my best to hold myself to the same standard.

However, facts belong to objective reality. So, I encourage you as a reader to check facts that I present. Sometimes I make mistakes. Feel free to correct me (respectfully).

Some of this may seem obvious, but with the tri-fold theme some controversial topics may come to light. So, when all else fails, remember the golden rule:

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

What’s next for the blog?

For now I am going to keep the tagline “Home of many interesting things.” It summarizes my long term goal with this website. I want this place to be a home of many informative, thought provoking, and sometimes downright hilarious things.

Whether I continue posting with rapid frequency after one month remains to be seen. Eight posts a month is a little too frequent for my taste. So my hope is that long term I land somewhere lower in frequency, but not as infrequent as once every two years. :-)

Feedback

I welcome all constructive feedback. I don’t have a master plan covering everything to write about. So if you have thoughts or ideas about which direction to go, please send them my way.

This is a static website, so there is no commenting platform built in. I plan to use other social media sites to stir up discussion (most likely LinkedIn at first, but it might extend to Facebook or Reddit). I will post links to social media threads at the end of each article. If you are like me and have mixed emotions about social media, feel free to email me. My email address is on my contact info page on this site.

If you post an insightful or thoughtful comment on one of the social media sites, I might reprint it here. If I do then I will generally remove as much identifying information as I can (unless you want to be identified, of course). If you do not want me to republish your comment, then please simply ask.